In many countries, governments spemd large amounts of money on the arts and this is supported by some taxpayers as worthwhile. Others, however think that this money would be better spent on health and education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with these opinions? Discuss, based on your knowledge and experience.

Some people adhere to the opinion that governments should financially support arts and other related activities and programmes. They feel that art enormously influences the society by transforming point of views, instilling values and interpreting experiences. Moreover, they also think that it significantly affects the fundamental sense of self. Furthermore, they argue that arts preserve history by reminiscing an experience in a particular time and place. This can be evidenced by the massive number of paintings, sculptures, songs, literary works and other crafts, which are frequently considered as the repository of the collective memory of a society. Additionally, some researchers conducted a study of the relationship between the arts and the brain. They discovered that visual art observations had constructive effects on the personal lives of the nursing home-bound elders. In addition to this, arts can be an important key in a community's economic development. To illustrate, the arts and cultural industries provide employments, attract investors and stimulate local economies through tourism, consumer purchases and tax revenues. Conversely, in spite of the contributions of arts in the society, I believe that national funds should be focusing more on health and education sectors. Without a doubt, a nation can only be sustained if its citizens are well-educated and holistically healthy and fit. For instance, with the tremendous global modernization, people of various nationalities should be globally competitive enough to catch up with vast technological innovations, which are being used by large companies; so as to strengthen their workforce. Another example would be the fact that, currently, countries all over the world are in a race to purchase millions of vaccines for a particular viral disease. For this reason, governments are now allocating billions of dollars to have their vulnerable citizens vaccinated as soon as possible. Ultimately, with sufficient subsidization on health and education, societies can have lower crime rates, better overall health and civic involvement. To sum up, arts are indeed a noteworthy representation of a country, which also aid in economic development. However, I believe that in order to enhance everyone's quality of life, create a more civilized and safer community and provide comfort others could not obtain, health care and educational systems must be financially sustained and prioritize over the others.