Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree? A lot of environmental problems are caused by the wide usage of plastic bags, hence, some people consider that those bags ought to be prohibited. In my opinion, they have a negative effect on landfills and the seas, however, the replacements for plastic bags also carry significant environmental risks, that is why I think that plastic bags should not be bunned. To begin, the main environmental side effect caused by plastic bags is the earth and water contamination. An insignificant percentage of people may reuse them, but most would simply litter or throw them in the trash. If individuals continue to throw plastic bags in the trash, they will turn to an ever-increasing number of landfills and contribute to soil pollution. For example, the ones that are simply thrown on the street tossed into clog drains after that find their way to the sea and entangle marine life. Another view is that if plastic bags would be prohibited a harmful effect from biodegradable products. Most people suggest that paper bags and reusable bags made from cotton are the best solutions, however, these remedies are even worse. Paper bags require us to continue clearing forests, besides, reusable bags are plagued by similar problems. Independent studies have shown that the production of cotton and reusable plastic causes more harm to the environment than disposable bags due to factories' exhausts. In conclusion, owing to broadly usable plastic bags nature snowed under many problems; some people support the idea to restrict those bags. Plastic bags are the main reason for landscape and water contamination, however, I think that if plastic bags would be bunned the side effects for nature will be even worse, hence, they should not be prohibited.