Social Media websites have amassed large user bases, and have become the sole source of information for their users. Do the advantages of being a part of a social media site outweigh the disadvantages?

Although there are numerous websites on the internet, still the social sites are overwhelmed by the users for sharing and receiving information. This essay will firstly, discuss how social media sites are useful in terms of communication and secondly, we will examine the benefits of these sites in terms of social awareness. To begin, social media websites and applications have made it possible for people to get in touch with their friends and families even if they are sitting on the other side of the globe. To elaborate, social websites are the places where we can have a chat, conversation on audio call or even can have a face-to-face meeting with other people on the planet thus creating a sophisticated means of communication. For instance, sites such as Facebook, Instagram and many more are the means by which we remain in contact with our friends and family, moreover, we can make new friends and learn about different cultures. In addition to that, social media sites have been a major platform in various social reform and awareness movements, gaining huge support from the masses to stand for the cause. To further explain, nowadays, almost all the social activities are promoted through online campaigns and it has proven to be tremendously effective in enlightening the society about some social issues followed by the act of uniting the society to combat these issues. For example, during the miserable situations of dictatorship in Tunisia, social activists took to different social media sites for spreading awareness among people about how democratic governance can pull the nation out of the crisis. To conclude, social media have become a prominent platform for communicating with others and the transmission of information across the globe. Therefore, considering the merits of these sites I believe that the benefits of being a user of social sites far more outweighs the negative aspects of it.