VACCINATING CHILDREN AGAINST PREVENTABLE DISEASE IS NOT ONLY UNNECESSARY BUT ALSO DANGEROUS. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE ?

Vaccines are one of the most important medical discovery of our decade. While some people believe that vaccination protects children´s health, others argue that this treatment is not necessary and put kids at risk. This essay agrees with the former and will argue that vaccines are effective and save lives. Firstly, vaccines save the lives of thousands of people around the globe each year. This is because they protect us against many infectious and acquired diseases from numerous viruses and bacteriae. Also, thanks to vaccines, some pathogens that previously were major causes of death and disability, such as polio, have now been eradicated. Despite the vast scientific evidence supporting vaccination, many people are still against this kind of therapy and this may be caused only by their ignorance. Secondly, those who argue against vaccines might also doubt about their safety. However, the process of making a vaccine is, in fact, rigorous and passes through many studies before reaching patients. In other words, before a new vaccine can be used in humans, it has to overcome both "in vitro" studies and then a series of other tests in animal subjects. This results in vaccines been highly safe for humans. In conclusion, vaccines have protected us for decades and they are safe therapies. I would recommend that all children should be vaccinated against polio.