(1) Should college students be forced to take courses outside their main area of study? Why?

In recent years, education has become a recurrent topic. Some people discuss if the universities should demand extracurricular subjects from their students. I completely believe in it and, in this essay, I will support my view with examples. Besides the technical skills, professionals should be prepared for the job routine situations that might come up. This is because courses that do that, definitely, put the student in a superior position from other candidates. For example, oral presentations, leadership, and being good at group activities are important abilities which are not usually trained on the regular curriculum of universities. As a result, if you are not trained for that type of challenge, the companies might hire someone else. Furthermore, universities should also prepare their graduates for the community environment. The reason for this is due to the improvement that can happen to them not just at the professional side but also at the human aspect. To illustrate that, charity, volunteer work and emotional intelligence are important elements that goes beyond classrooms. In resume, even though these are not regular courses, they still have a huge value in society. In conclusion, subjects that do not come from the principal theme of the students’ major are also important. It is because they can give to them a good preparation for the job field and also improve their personal lives. According to that, I believe that learners in universities should be obligated to deal with that kind of content on a regular basis.