Prevention is better than cure. Out of country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Since time immemorial, taking preventative steps before occurring any perilous situation has been regarded as paramount rather than mitigating that setback. Consequently, there is a standpoint that a country should spend a large percentage of the health fund on different preventative activities rather than on medication and hospitalization. Being a ration mind, I, however, take issue with this motion, for I am of the view that it is next to impossible to avoid many fatal diseases and build awareness among mass people. Among the ratiocination to buttress my stance, the one that stands out deals with the significance of investing a big amount of money in the treatment facility as the only way for saving lives. To be more precise, there are many genetic disorders, namely, cancer, hepatitis-B, liver cirrhosis, to name but a few, cannot be deterred by any prompt steps, resulting in the admittance in hospices, So as to fight against those deadly diseases, therefore, it is indispensable for a government to distribute a large proportion of fund for medical care. Another critical rationale in reference to why massive heath budget should be diverted to medical treatment is that all classes of people in a society cannot be educated because of lacking concern and interest about safe and sound health. In other words, in a community, there is a diversity of humans, ranging from the highly educated to the illiterate, causing difficulties for a government to educate every citizen about health issues. To cite an example, during coronavirus pandemic in 2020, no government in the developing countries made it possible to understand their rural citizens to wear masks in order to stop the spreading virus. Hence, it is incumbent on every bureaucratic authority to invest large fund on the treatment with a view to save lives. In essence, much as spending on health education and preventative measures are thought to be useful, a country’s largest health budget must be spent on the treatment of patients because some diseases are unpreventable as well as educating mass people is quite difficult.