Nowadays some buildings such as offices and school have open space design instead of separate rooms . Why it is so ?Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this recent modern world, we are able to see the drastic changes everywhere. In the same way, the majority of offices and schools are built with an open-space floor plan on their premises rather than having individual cabinet rooms. Although, this idea is to be invited because of its pros, does it have its other side? In this essay, I will explain the pros and cons of such development and give my opinion about it. First and foremost reason why these open floor plans are mostly preferred by the organisations and institutions is it's cost-effective. The huge cost is involved in constructing separate cabinets and in an open design, only the furniture is to be installed. This furnishing works will incur only fewer expenses. Furthermore, such a structure at offices will eliminate the discrimination of staff members. For Instance, all the faculty members irrespective of their grades sitting together at the same place will make it easier to get interaction with others and help to find a place for a newcomer who joins in the office. On the other hand, there are some unlikely effects in this kind of seating arrangement. Since all are sitting in a close manner, staff might feel that he/ she is being watched by others and need some privacy. Moreover, this lack of privacy creates stress and anxiety and in result will be reflected in their works. For example, the productivity of the employees has decreased by 15% as per the market statistics in the recent past. In addition, this sort of seating has the possibility of spreading any contagious diseases among the staff members. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that these open-space designs have its positive and negative sides equally. Whether to take it on a positive or negative side, completely depending on a position where the viewer is. In my words, it has both.