Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To some people,it is obvious that the government is not spending the money in a wise way,while to the rest,it is not the case.Whether the expenditures could be planned in a more equitable way or not is questionable to many. This essay will discuss the above-mentioned issue and show some points regarding how the money can be more evenly spent. Of course,the arts are very important aspects of our social life,making our life more soothing and enjoyable. However,we have some other unpleasant truths to face namely poverty,hunger,illiteracy,and so on which are ruling over us in many parts of the world.It is more true of third world countries.In a country like ours,we have more than 60% of people living below the poverty line.How can we even think of spending money for developing arts,while a large number of the population go to sleep empty stomach? Likewise,talking about the rate of literacy;only 45% of the total population of the nation is literate.So,logically it is not a wise decision to spend more money to celebrate the new year parties instead of keeping the budget left for educating the uneducated.Overall,priority should be set before distributing the resources. Although arts and culture should be promoted to keep the legacy going,the government cannot be extravagant in this sector.Admittedly,traditional songs,dance,dramas are the foods of souls that help a man feel recharged internally and these will tie all the countrymen together with the knot of nationalism. However,the way to get relief from hunger is more important to be sought out. Moreover,the budget should sanction a substantial amount with a view to eliminating these monsters from our society so that every child goes to school,no old lady craves for food,no homemaker succumbs to death for the dowry.1 in every 10 lady dies a dowry-death in Bangladesh-statistics says.So,it is not unclear where to allot most of the money. In a nutshell,despite being a very pivotal sector,the arts cannot be given much more attention than the other vital areas of interest,financially.In my opinion,I agree that the currency could be spent elsewhere to alleviate the major problems and that would be better for all of us.