Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Recruiters require academic qualifications over personal qualities when selecting candidates for job positions. A possible reason is some reputable universities provide better academic standards and having good scores represent excellent abilities. However, I wholeheartedly disagree with this qualification because an academic diploma only depicts learning ability and not technical. Many employers believe that students from prestigious universities are equipped with skills and knowledge that can be applied to work. Students are prepared with deep knowledge and problem-solving, moreover, each subject demands deep understanding to obtain high scores and this is reflected in students' transcripts. As a result, the recruiters prioritise excellent academics and hope the employees can learn in the meantime. Despite these reasons, academic accomplishments only play a small portion in success in work and the rest is up to personal abilities. Personal experiences such as internships should be considered because they represent candidates' capabilities in specific areas as they have experienced them. For instance, in my experience as a recruiter in Jakarta, Indonesia, employees who have high GPAs in school are usually not able to master new technologies such as cloud computing and machines, unlike others who have lower GPAs but have internship experiences. Due to these facts, having experience should be considered an important qualification when hiring employees. To conclude, academic achievements only depict the learning capabilities of people and not technical and soft skills. Nevertheless, many recruiters believe that high achievements in school represent better capabilities in work as some universities provide such an excellent curriculum. Therefore, some employers demand formal academic achievements as one of the requirements when hiring candidates for certain positions.