Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a job. On the other hand, other people think getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Education has always been a pinnacle of success in today’s society. While some believe having a university degree is the surest way to secure employment, others believe experience and developing soft skills are more important. In my opinion, having a higher education is the best way to get a job. On the one hand, tertiary education is of great importance and also paramount to one's future success. Therefore, in today’s world where competition to secure a good job is very stiff, an excellent degree from a top institution can be of great help to stand out amongst the crowd of job seekers. To illustrate this, master's degree holders often get employed easily due to their level of education which gives them an edge over other job seekers. No wonder most students now enrol for their postgraduate degree immediately after completing their first degree because of this added advantage. On the other hand, developing soft skills such as teamwork, effective communication, and great interpersonal skills are also very useful. They are used on a day-to-day basis by employees to help them interact and work efficiently with one another. For instance, workers who can communicate effectively tend to appeal to their co-workers because of their demeanour. Furthermore, job experience can also not be undermined since it takes years to acquire them. Therefore, workers with vast working experience are great assets to the companies they work for. To reiterate, having soft skills and experience are beneficial to secure a job, but I believe having a higher education is far more useful in securing a job with ease. Hence, most employers prefer people with a solid educational background compared to someone with just a high school certificate with 10 years of working experience.