In many countries women no longer feel the need to get married. Some people believe that this is because women are able to to earn their own income and therefore do not require the financial security that marriage can bring. To what extent do you agree ?

In the 21st century, the reasons to get married has changed especially for women. Few intellects believe that this is because women are able to earn to support them, while some argue. I affirm that this is true, by making earning women are able to avoid marriage. In this essay, independence and self-control of women’s lives will be discussed to support my stance. To commence with, the primary reason for not getting married in the sense of independence brought by the earning women make. The salary earned by women is enough to support their everyday life even occasional parties and vacations could also be enjoyed which make them self-dependent deviating the urge of getting married. For instance, the average wage of women has gradually increased to match with the average salary of men, serving women an opportunity to enjoy the freedom the same as men. Therefore, being independent is the chief reason for women to stay single. Furthermore, another reason for staying single is the feel of having authority over one’s own life. Nowadays, women have achieved higher highs in all aspects of society. This made women take important and delicate decisions in a corporate job and they want the same power in their daily life too which is not possible in married life because we have a male dominating society. For illustration, in the contemporary world, 90% of women want to have the same control in their personal life as they in their career. Thus, having self-control of life is another reason to consider women choosing to stay single. In summary, in my opinion, women do not seek to get married because they can earn financial stability which was earlier promised in tying a knot only. Additionally, independence and control over life are exercised because they are earning their own bread and butter.