Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger.  Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and must stop now. Discuss both these points of view and give your own opinion.

There is apparent controversy on the economic development, while many believe that in order to overcome poverty and hunger, progress in the economy is needed; others affirm that the damages that economic growth inflicts into the environment cannot be compensated and the economic growth should be withheld as soon as possible. Although both sides have a rationale for their suggestions, I personally believe that environmental friendly economy would be the solution. On the one hand, the proponents of economic growth indicate that growth in Gross Domestic Products (GDP), as the presentation of economic growth, is directly correlated with the country’s well-fair status. Provided that the distribution of the wealth is equitable, the more the per capita income is, the better the quality of life in a country is. In addition, economic growth means that more people have reliable jobs and a wage which prohibits poverty and hunger. For instance, the unemployment rate in developed countries is consistently lower than poor countries which is the direct effect of economic growth. On the other hand, opponents of economic growth stress that in order to propel the economy, the environment should be sacrificed. Firstly, economic improvement depletes natural resources by using raw materials for production. For example, deforestation is the consequence of manufacturing wood-wares. Secondly, another adversary of economic growth is environmental pollution. The higher economic growth is, the more energy consumption leads to more the pollution, such as China which produces most CO2 of the world as it produces the most product rate and has the highest economic growth. To summarize, I personally believe that it is impossible and unethical to stop economic growth which worsens the poverty and hunger especially in developing world, instead a conscious use of natural resources and adhering to green energy production are the best ways to relieve hunger and poverty, while the environment is preserved. It is suggested that developing countries find the most environmentally friendly ways for their economic growth.