The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media has infiltrated into everyone’s life and is believed to be replacing direct communication. This situation, although advantageous in certain aspects, is generally a detriment to true human communication in the long run. On the one hand, I recognize some benefits brought about by social media. Firstly, they facilitate communication in modern times as now people can globally connect with old friends and relatives or with others who share common interests. For example, individuals can use Facebook to interact with others by sharing posts and pictures about their personal lives, make a video call at no cost. Secondly, study sessions are frequently happening on social networking websites through live streaming services, which allows learners around the world have free access to online classes on such sites. However, I think online networking sites pose more threats to human’s safety and interpersonal relationships. As these sites are becoming more and more dominant and attract large numbers of new users every day, people can fall prey to online communication abuse, such as online bullying and harassment. In fact, social networking websites can become a toxic environment where users can be verbally assaulted because there are only a few rules, most of which are spoken rules rather than established guidelines, that restrict hateful or abusive contents. Furthermore, overuse of social media to communicate can lead to people downplaying the importance of face-to-face interaction on which true human relationships thrive. Nowadays, many young and reclusive users prefer living in a virtual world on social sites than engaging in real-life relationships. This may have serious mental effects, such as increased stress, anxiety and loneliness. In conclusion, the downsides of social media replacing face-to-face interaction are more significant than the benefits users could reap from those sites.