Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer pressure. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Young people are always referred to our 'pillars of future'. At their developmental stage, they are easily influenced by their friends. There is a myriad of views about whether peer pressure brings more advantages than disadvantages. In view of peer pressure can give greater motivation to youngsters, the advantages outweigh disadvantages indeed. Among all the negative impacts of peer influence, probably the most significant one is that teenagers tend to seek friends' recognition in order to gain confidence through others' appreciation. A striking example is that a lot of youngsters attempt minor crimes such as shoplifting because they think in such ways that they can gain recognition by showing their courage. Sadly, these impulsive behaviours are undesirable. Therefore, it makes it clear that peer pressure can bring disadvantages. Nevertheless, I believe peer pressure brings more advantages. Buddy influence provides youngsters with the motivation to gain greater success. Schools often divide students into small classes. It can be observed that smart students can achieve higher academic goals while others improve as they are all in a fair competition atmosphere that motivates them to work hard. Never should we overlook the fact that peer pressure can positively encourage students to strive for a better outcome. To conclude, although peer pressure may induce teenagers to make decisions without a second thought and that can cause irreversible outcomes, benefits outweigh drawbacks if proper guidance from school and parents can be provided. It is clear that the advantages of peer pressure outweigh the disadvantages as it helps young people to achieve higher goals.