The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

In my opinion, due to the worsening of global warming effect day after day, the notion of diversifying myriads types of transportation should be highlighted and implemented to people's mind by setting new laws to control car ownership and use based one three reasons as follow. First of all, cars burn petroleum to generate mobility so that they could move, which would also discharge excessive exhausted gas as their engine are on. It is mainly composed of carbon dioxide, which is the notorious culprit for deteriorating global warming effect. Worse than, the process of extracting petrol from the deep ground underneath not just consumes plethora of energy but contributes myriads pollution. Besides, since we human being don't possess an unlimited access to natural resource, it will drain out soon or later. So, we should devote our time and efforts in developing alternative or new types of resource as a substitute for fossil fuel, and alleviate the negative effect as much as we can. Time-consuming as it might seem, hybrid or electric car are the second to none option to this scenario. They can effectively decrease the amount of car discharged carbon dioxide by means of consuming less fossil fuel, which is the instant remedy that we can figure out to treat this thorny environmental issue. Even though we have come up with the feasible solution that it could work on. However, nothing works without teamwork and collaboration, therefore, setting the new law is the way I think could bring every of us together the government should offer the carrot and the stick all at once. The former could be promoted at the first phase of the new policy such as encouraging people to opt hybrid or electric ones by subsidizing as a means of phasing out the petrol ones step by step, whereas the latter can be implemented at the later phase by giving a fine or penalty to raise people awareness of eco-friendly option. Our earth is the home that we live together and we only have one. It is time for we human should make an effort of preserving our home all together. It is we human that has destroyed the environment and exploited the resource that we granted from the past millions of years. It is also we human should roll up our sleeves to fix this issue or sooner or later, we will be the one who tastes our own bitter medicine.