Many universities graduates cannot find a job in their chosen profession. what factors may have caused this situation and what in your opinion should be done about it?

There is an inclination of students towards university courses, with a future perspective of grabbing a good pay job upon graduation. In reality, many fresh graduates fail to find the type of work they are looking for and some may even take up jobs not relevant to their field. This is due to lack of real-life job experiences and competitive job market conditions, because of which many university graduates find themselves drifting from their desired career path. In my opinion, the root of this problem lies in the impractical higher education coursework which needs to be modernized. Firstly, the traditional university curriculum focuses on the theoretical aspect that doesn't’ bridge the gap of providing practical knowledge of jobs she may be looking for. One popular reason is that university programs are mostly theory-based. This lacks a practical hands-on job experience and basic skills in a candidate. For instance, knowledge of coding is required in IT/ Computers for an Engineering student. Just passing the university exams and getting coding certificates won’t land them a job. Moreover, there is the viewpoint of rising competition in jobs. In other words, students take up a course purely for showing it on their resume without knowing its upcoming job opportunities. Additionally, the lack of guidance from professors also creates a vague idea about a possible career path. I believe that there is a solution following “one stone that kills two birds”. One such approach is reforming the education system that is feasible by following a tripartite relationship with Government, universities and the companies. Firstly, companies can mention their requisite skills regarding the type of jobs they are looking for. Secondly, to help students get good placements, universities can design coursework according to the right market-fit requirement imparting practical experience in their field. Thirdly, government validation is needed to implement changes in this contemporary structure. In other words, the government needs to bring in necessary regulations so that education is relevant to jobs in the market. This will help to avoid overflowing candidates in the job pool and help them acquire a better fit job in future. To conclude, the current scenario of the prevailing education prospectus will not change unless universities take necessary steps to make a change such as building market-relevant courses and real-life case studies. Furthermore, individuals have to gear up with practicalities of work and challenging market situations.