Computer games are very popular for all ages and nationalities. Parents think this has little educational value and it will be harmful for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Playing video games of various genre is becoming increasingly popular among individuals of all ages. One widely held view by parents consider such play as intellectually lazy and maintains that e-games instil aggression, isolation and depression among the people. Contrary to this view, I strongly think that computer games strengthen cognitive skills in the player just as well as academic courses. Playing games strengthen cognitive skills such as spatial navigation, reasoning, memory, perceptions as well as enhance problem-solving skills in the player. For instance, shooter games establish the skill of navigating in a 3-dimensional environment while strategic games tend to develop problem-solving skills in an individual. All these skills are essential in career development and necessary to have in order to contribute to the scientific world. Academic courses attempt to boost the same skills in the student though it is achieved in a different manner. Apart from above-mentioned skills, video games also enhance the social skills of a player since most games in today's world involves interaction between players. For example, multiplayer games in specific, require players to work in a collaborative environment and therefore teach players how to act in a team environment. Moreover, these plays often force the players to makes quick decisions and hence, builds decision making power in a player. An example of this could be to come up with a quick new strategy in case of a set back from a previous strategy. In short, it can be established that video games play a crucial role in strengthening social and survival skills within a person. To conclude, video games cultivate social, psychological and survival skills within a player, just as same as educational courses, which far eclipses the negative impacts being highlighted by the parents and the society. If we want to develop our kids and youth for the future, parents should not strip away such source of development.