Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even during the holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Many company owners want their employees within their reach, not only on working days but also during their time away from work. Firstly, this essay will discuss the main advantage of having no contact with work during a vacation and secondly the drawbacks of how certain demanding jobs require 24-hour contact. On the one hand, the main advantage of not contacting work while away, is that it allows the person to relax and recharge their batteries. Recently, most jobs are very stressful and people need a break, wanting to spend their time with their family and friends. This can help them to relax and release the tension of a demanding job so that they can build their energy for when they return. For example, research conducted by UP Manila in the Philippines indicates that people who spend holidays with their families and have no contact with work are more productive when they return, which has a positive effect on the company productivity. On the other hand, the primary drawback of being contacted by work when on vacation can mean dropping all plans for whatever emergency has occurred. Some professions, are deemed to be very demanding, in that they need to be able to contact their employees at all times. Often medical professionals need to be on call 24 hours a day in order to save people’s lives, regardless of any holiday time. If one delves into statistics, The NHS in the UK reported that during December 2017 over the Christmas period, they saw a 20% increase in the number of doctors who worked on Christmas Day. In conclusion, although both employees and the companies they work for can both benefit from extra work being completed whilst a worker is on a holiday, it can also have a negative effect. This can add stress and pressure on the employees.