Around the world more and more people today are living in urban areas. Why is this? What problems does this cause?

There is no doubt that many people migrate to cities to look for new opportunities. There are two main reasons, and three problems of this trend, which will be discussed in this essay. Probably the main reason for living in cities is the lack of jobs in rural areas. Due to the development of the agriculture industry, human resources are minimized. This transition results in a lack of work, thus those who are in the working ages may find difficulties to find a job if they stay. In urban areas, in contrast, the economy develops quickly, which increase the demand for labour. Furthermore, as the infrastructure is less developed in rural areas, there are many disadvantages to living there. Many choose to move to urban areas in order to have a better lifestyle. There are three major problems of the migration from rural to urban areas. The first problem is overpopulation in cities, especially metropolitans. Many of them have a significantly low number of people per meter, which vastly decrease life quality. Secondly, competition for jobs has always been a major issue. Those who come from rural areas often ready to work at a lower rate, which creates a conflict with local people, who cannot afford a lower rate. Finally, housing and renting prices claim dramatically in cities as there is a high demand created by immigrations; therefore, it makes living in those places much more difficult and expensive. To conclude, the reasons for living in cities are more job opportunities and better infrastructure. However, three major issues are overpopulation, job competition and high housing and renting price.