Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Ecological and environmental problems have remained a hot topic of debate for more than a decade. Out of various environmental problems, some hold the view that the extinction of certain species of plants and animals is the most essential issue of the present time. However, others believe there are more important environment-related issues currently at play that need our attention first. I believe the eradication of species is only an implication of other important environmental problems, and if dealt prior, species of animals and plants can be preserved. Many widely believe that the extinction of particular species of plants and animals can negatively impact the ecological balance, and, is therefore the most important environmental problem. Loss of certain species of plants and animals will imbalance the life-cycle owing to the fact that most animals feed on certain species, and unavailability of such species will cause them to starve and can potentially endanger them. For instance, few herbivorous animals rely only on certain species of mushrooms and unavailability of such species will cause those animals to go extinct. Hence, if this disturbance of the food chain is not dealt in a timely manner, it will cause severe issues for the inhabitants of this planet earth. The other popular opinion is that there are other major environmental issues that need foremost attention. These include increased carbon emissions, extreme weather conditions, and droughts to name a few, and these pose a far more serious threat to the ecological system than the loss of certain species. For example, carbon-based pollution alone is considerably contributing to global warming and is evident with increased atmospheric temperatures. If not dealt promptly, will cause melting of ice sheets which in turn will cause floods.