It is a commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that life long sentence is a better deterrent. Discuss both views

There is a controversy over the matter if criminals ought to serve an everlasting crime sentence or should be sentenced to capital punishment. There are strong arguments on both sides, which we will discuss here. On the one hand, supporters of the death punishment point out that it can cause criminals to be dreaded. In other words, citizens strive to prevent themselves from committing hideous offences as they know it will cause them to be executed. Furthermore, they claim that the death penalty is an automatic disincentive factor, which prevents even ordinary people from committing hideous wrongdoings. In UAE, for instance, everyone knows that the penalty for kidnapping is death; consequently, no one dares to commit this offence in this country. By contrast, the other group argue that endless imprisonment should be considered a more effective crime-preventing factor. This is because criminals can be rehabilitated while serving their convictions. In fact, prisoners are given an opportunity to refine themselves, come back to society, and function as productive people. In the United States, for instance, criminals, even murderers, are sentenced to prison with determined minimum years. This can give these criminals the chance to regret and refine as well as express a new positive personality from themselves. There is another side to this punishment that is also worth considering, meaning that without spreading violence, people learn to avoid committing crimes as they do not aim to spend the rest of their lives in prison. Overall, after considering both viewpoints, I am inclined to believe that the death penalty is violent even if it seems to be highly influential in deterring crime commitments and lifelong sentences are better options to prevent people from accomplishing wrongdoings.