Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are many poor countries in the world which rely on the assistance provided to them by the rich countries. Some people hold the view that developed nations should provide monetary aid to the poor nations; however, I truly believe that under-developed countries need to be helped through the transfer of knowledge. When the poor countries are given any kind of financial help, it simply adds to their account of national credit. This means that the nation will have an obligatory loan that they will have to repay in the future. For example, the poor country may not have sufficient skills to effectively utilise the given loan, leading to a misuse of international funds. Therefore, the strategy does not really help the nation towards a growth trajectory. On the contrary, developed countries can make use of other opportunities to uplift the poorer countries. One way of doing this is by engaging in knowledge transfer with the leaders of the poor nation, and teaching them how to effectively generate revenue through the natural resources that the country already has. For example, the government of Australia can organise to send a few research scholars to train the Somalian research scholars about the latest innovations in water conservation methods. This will help the Somalian government to implement new policies that will reduce the problem of drought during the summer season. In conclusion, there are multiple channels through which the global super-powers like USA, Canada, and Australia can deliver aid to the under-developed nations of the world. Although financial help is an easy way to help such countries, in my opinion empowering through the resource capabilities is a solution that will have a tremendous impact on a nation's progress.