It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

More and more students are taking a year break after school before starting college. Primarily, the increase in competition in getting admission into their favourite graduation school. In one way a gap in education is an advantage to decide what is the best career choice for an individual. However, a major disadvantage is a pressure it puts on a person who is giving up a whole year to prepare to score well in the prelim exams. On one hand, students get ample amount of time to think about exploring diverse courses or popular university courses. Firstly, other career options can be explored depending upon the interest of a person. Secondly, with a single target to achieve an individual is able to focus solely on entry-level tests wherein an individual feels that an education gap is a must to improve their previous results and ranking to ace in the competitive exams. Furthermore, it reduces peer pressure of following the crowd and choosing a particular field of study, On the other hand, failing in the initial attempt makes one feel like a burden on their mind every time. As a result, students get pressurized seeing their batch mates making up to reputed universities in the first attempt, wherein they are not able to clear them. Additionally, it may even force some students to go into depression and anxiety when they are not able to clear pre-tests. Also, forces them to think negatively whether in another attempt they will be able to make up or not. To conclude, a drop after high school is an opportunity to rise and shine in prelims for some, while for others it is a risky career choice due to failure of not being able to make up in the next turn. However, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, the social stigma of making up to the top every-time is faced by today’s youth pacing up for securing their seat into institutions.