Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Providing personal information in a company would aid in knowing the candidate more, outside work performances. It is commonly argued by some sections of society that giving certain details such as a novice's hobby or marital status is useful for the organization, while some disagree to this. In my opinion, this information is vital for the human resource team to know an employee's capability. Firstly, although the newly joined will have many hobbies or talents, it is profoundly used by the recruiting team since the candidates are given a chance to exhibit it during a cultural festival. This may also help the persons to make new friends or find others with the same taste. Additionally, some personal details such as their relationship status also pave the way to know their commitment to work. For instance, married persons are more committed to work as they are the breadwinners of the family. On the other hand, the level of commitment may seem lesser in case of singles. In contrast, some novice finds a collection of these details irrelevant as they consider themselves only working for a salary, and not completely interested in other activities. They are the ones who are secluded and reserved. In an office environment, it is not advisable to remain to oneself as others may not recognize the employee. To cite an example, in my previous company, there was a worker who shied away from all extra-curricular activities and was barely known to others. To conclude, any activity apart from work will aid an employed person to gain more reputation, which will strengthen his stay with the company longer. It also builds rapport between two different people of the same choice. Hence, collecting such details are deemed relevant to an organization.