In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this massage?

In one’s lifespan, many challenges await individuals. Success and failure happen all the time. Of course, people usually give children hopes and make them be more confident. However, if children are too ambitious, and cannot accept failure, they may drop into depression. Therefore, people should let children realise (that the effort might result) failure always happens, and that is life. When people are little, teachers always ask students what they want to do in the future. As a child, they have million dreams and images which they want to do and achieve. Both parents and teachers convince children if they do their best, their dreams or goals will come true. By this way, children can get more motivation and confidence. However, life challenges are always difficult and some of them cannot be reached. Or even if a person does not have certain sorts of gifts, it is possible that they cannot achieve their dreams in their life. For instance, when I was little, I wanted to be a doctor, because I wanted to help people so that when I was a high school student, I tried to study science and did my best, but I still could not understand these subjects, and I have come to realise that I am not smart enough to be a doctor. In Taiwan, if high school students want to attend a university, we have to pass the exams, and I fail. I was dropped into a university which is not famous and the major which I studied was completely different from medicine. However, during my university-student time, I found I have talent in my major. I could get the top results in my class. And I have realised that life will not be destroyed at once. People can always try everything they want. In my opinion, people should tell children if they have dreams, they always can try and do their best to reach them, even if they may fail in the process to reach goals. If people only convince children they can always fulfil their dream, once failure may destroy their confidence completely. People tend to be optimistic with everything, however, there are many difficult tasks in one’s life and people cannot be successful. Therefore, telling children to put their efforts in order to fulfil their dreams, but if they fail it will be fine as well. That is the most important concept in our life.