Some people believe that excessive use of modern technologies, such as computers and smartphones, is negatively affecting the reading and writing skills of our young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most people believe that the reading and writing skills of young adults have declined because of using advanced technology for a long time. This essay entirely agrees with this statement because it reduces their attention levels and makes them more dependent. The young generation finds it difficult to concentrate on fully grasping the context. They tend to click other links when they read online, which becomes later a habit moving from one page to another without concisely understanding what they are reading. For example, when some parents allow their children to read stories on their iPad, they noticed that their children did not know the main idea behind the stories because they were distracted by the colorful pop-up ads. Hence, extravagant use of cutting technology has shifted young people's mind from focusing on the essence of reading into fulfilling their curiosity of useless links. Another logical reason for supporting this statement, teenagers depend utterly on modern technology in accomplishing assignments. Students look immediately for the internet whenever they have school work because most of them can find solutions readily online. This intensive dependency might inhibit students from improving their writing and reading skills. An illustration of this point was demonstrated by using websites to fix their writing automatically mistakes without understanding them. Therefore, linguistic and comprehension issues may arise without realizing these problems have been surfing around. In conclusion, some would believe that youngers have intensively used advanced technology; thus, their writing and reading abilities have been affected by this trend.