Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Children need to be taught to become good citizens of society when they are at a very young age. However, some people think that it is better when parents educate their children to behave well, while others believe that school should take this responsibility. The answer can be both parents and schools as they are the main factors that affect the life of every young child. It is true that parents are responsible for, and to some extent, in a better position to guide their children on what are right or wrong. Firstly, parents are the first friends and closest to children since they are born. In addition, they are also the ones who provide most of the things that matter to their children, from the school they study at, their clothes, or even their entertainment. Therefore, they have a powerful impact on shaping the life of their children. Besides that, schools and teachers also have benefits and effective settings to educate students to be good members of society. For most children, they spend a majority of their time at school, and school is the place where they play, study and work with other students as a member of a society which is different from their life at home. As a result, teachers can utilise this setting to teach children how to be nice to other people. Furthermore, if teachers and school do not teach their students about the right behaviours, the classrooms can be very difficult to manage. So it is obvious that schools also need to take the responsibility to educate children to know right from wrong. In conclusion, both family and school shape a child to what they will become a member of society. They need to join hands to educate children in order to get the best result.