Some people think that it s necessary to involve the whole family into nurturing and upbringing a child, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The question of whether a whole family is needed to raise a child is a topical issue today. It is considered by some that children ought to be brought up in a multigenerational family, while others argue that a two-parent family might be more beneficial. Both sides of the argument will be examined and I will discuss them now. On the one hand, a joint effort by the parents and other relatives is vital to successfully raise a child. Not only can relatives provide great assistance to parents, who might consider focusing more on their career, but also parenting behaviour might improve. Furthermore, kin can enable emotional support for children, while providing more opportunities for conversation and social interaction. As a result, a socially enriched environment is the best way for children to grow up, which is illustrated by the fact that living under one roof is more cost-effective. For instance, according to a recent study by Oxford University, with such lifestyle 40 per cent of monthly costs can be saved. Conversely, there are some people who are opponents of whole family upbringing. They often argue, that parents need privacy, so it would be more advisable to live separately as a nuclear family. For example, as only three to five people would live together, depending on the number of children, this lifestyle would involve less housework as there are fewer people living together. In my opinion, the described way of living is not the most beneficial. To conclude, the given topic can be quite controversial to some, while others favour the described lifestyle. A discussion of the merits and the drawbacks of upbringing a child in a whole family was discussed. In my view, it is more beneficial for society to live together as a whole family, and not just as a nuclear family.