Some people think that certain prisoners showed be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behnid bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Recently, specific crime sentences have been argued. Some people assume that it would be better if certain offenders are engaged in voluntary community work. Personally, I completely agree with this view because of the positive outcomes, which will be discussed in this essay, for the criminals themselves and the whole society. Regarding the criminals, since the sentences should be aligned with the crime itself, those who commit minor offences should not be kept with dangerous culprits. This is because they might be influenced by other's thoughts in violating the rules after their release from prisons. In contrast, while petty crimes' offenders are separated to be volunteers in community work, they will reconsider their roles in society and what they have done before. For instance, it is noticed that once lawbreakers, who are punished for minor crimes such as reckless drive or breaking speed limit, are asked to participate in community work, they seldom repeat any fraudulent activities. Thus, not all criminals should spend their sentences in jails. As for the society, with a view to curbing crime incidence, governments have to implement unpaid community work as an alternative strategy for prisons. This deterrent step improves criminals' physiatric status; therefore, they would not violate the rules again. As a result, the crime rate will gradually decrease. Not only does society benefits from reducing crime incidence, but it also indirectly benefits financially. For example, in Singapore, as minor criminals contribute to unpaid work, they replace numerous paid positions like street cleaning and farming. Hence, governments could not waste money on funding prisons. To conclude, although lawbreakers must receive harsh punishment, those who commit minor crimes ought to work for their communities rather than be in jails. I believe that criminals, as well as societies, will gain more from this unpaid work