Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more sufficient.what are the advantages and disadvantages?

There are different views on the methods of crime dealings. Serving a common punishment for all kinds of criminal activities is believed to be effective by a growing number of people. Such a fixed penalty can lead to a reduction in the crime rate even though it might not be something impartial. On the one hand, firstly unifying the punishment for all types of criminal activities can increase the public awareness about the consequences of breaking any laws. Since the penalty will be equal for all delinquents, they will be more conscious about the potential outcome of their anti-social behaviours. For example, when a robber is planning to rob a bank,and he knows about the strict,unified result of his action, he will probably reconsider it. secondly, when the result of every violating activity is obvious, the time which should be spent in court will be saved. This can help governments to save money devoted to holding the court of justice. Overall, it is an effective deterrent practice when people know the potential consequences of the crime the have a plan to commit,and being cost-effective can brings some benefits to both governments and people. On the other hand, setting unified retribution for all violators is not fair to some extends. To clarify more,it should be considered that not all of the Criminals have been committed under equal situations. For instance, a person who plans a violate crime with clear intention should not receive the same punishment the same as who commit crime due to self-defence. Furthermore, personal circumstances, such as extreme poverty or mental health issues, should be taken into account because all of the people who commit crime are not aggressive by their nature. For example, there are lots of people who commit crimes to meet their families’ basic needs,and it is not comparable with who commit murder under normal situations. To conclude, setting equal rules for all crimes can have deterrent effects which can lead people to shun criminal activities. However,it can be unfair not to consider criminal intentions.