Some people think that young people can learn useful skills by playing electronic and computer games. Others argue that people who play electronic and computer games are wasting their time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, there are enormous fun activities in which a child can participate. Some people claim that young individuals should get involved in activities such as playing electronic and computer games. While others assert that these interests only waste the time. In this essay, I will explain both the views in the following paragraphs before coming to a final conclusion. On the one hand, supporters for engaging children in electronic devices and playing games on a computer believe that these interests help a young individual to think in a rational way. Playing a particular game on the computer requires lots of different perspectives and only with a correct decision, a player can win the game. For instance, in many puzzle games, on any wrong move, a player gets a penalty, so this encourages the player to move in the right direction. Overall, with these games,it cultivates a wider perspective in a child which is certainly a vital skill. On the other hand, people oppose that children should not play games on the computer and electronic devices, they explain in their favour that young people should more concentrate on their academics than on these games. Indeed, there are a plethora of other activities such as sports, yoga and mind classes, in which a child can take part to spend his leisure time. Moreover, computer games are addictive in nature, once the child starts taking interest in these games, he lives in his own gaming world which can have various detrimental impacts on his/her real life. Therefore, due to these reasons, people emphasize more on other activities than on playing games on the computer. All in all, although involving in computer games and playing electronic cultivate cognitive abilities in the young one, the side-effects of these activities cannot be ignored. I believe, young individuals should not play games on the computer because of their negative consequences on their mind and behaviour, also there are more ways that children can learn similar skills in other activities.