Many people believe that increasing levels of violence on television and in films is having a direct result on levels of violence in society. Others claim that violence in society is the result of more fundamental social problems such as unemployment. How much do you think society is affected by violence in the media?

There is no doubt that criminal activities mostly show a positive trend across the globe. While some people believe that it’s due to the violent television programs and movies, others argue that it’s due to social issues like increasing unemployment, poverty etc. In this essay, I am looking into the impact of media on this behaviour in society and elucidate my points against this thought. Firstly, movies have a very limited role to play in criminalizing society. This is because, though the younger generation is exposed to mayhem in movies and other media programs, it's impacts on them is often very minimal. For instance, after watching a movie portraying criminality, the tendency of the viewers is how not to get into issues like that, rather than getting involved in the act. This is attributed to the rule of law prevailing in the country. Also, they read the news about how the culprits are treated and punished, which makes them think twice before committing any such an act. Secondly, projecting criminals as tall leaders by some sections of social media or television doesn’t really bring in fan following for those miscreants. The reason for this is that the younger generation acts more on facts rather than being influenced by television or any social media news. For instance, a study conducted by the Medical Research Foundation in India shows that the people are mostly influenced by their families rather than these mediums. To sum up, though there is a marginal increase in the violence in our society, it’s hard to believe that this is due to watching some criminal movies or some similar news in television or any other media, especially in a country where the rule of law prevails.