Forests produce fresh oxygen and participate in regulating climate. But every year tree cover of our planet is lessening due to deforestation. What are the primary causes of deforestation? To what results may it lead?

Forests are the lungs of the earth and maintain the eco-balance. Reduction in forest areas will affect mankind survival. Urbanisation and agricultural expansion primarily have caused deforestation. Eventually, it will lead to a hotter climate and less availability of oxygen for humans. In this essay, the main causes of deforestation and the results which will lead will be discussed. To begin with, the primary causes of reduction in oxygen -producing forests which helped to maintain the atmosphere are urbanisation and agricultural expansion surging with time. Firstly, more and more people are opting the urban lifestyle to achieve this forest area are converted into urban areas. For example, every year 2% of forests are changed into cities. Secondly, to bridge the gap of food supply and demand, the woodland is transformed into agricultural land. For instance, in the recent decade, 5% of jungles are cut down and utilised to grow grains and pulses. Hence, the increase in urban areas and agriculture is causing the lessening of trees. On the other hand, the chief effects of causes will be a hotter climate and oxygen deficit environment. First of all, trees help to regulate the environment, if they are chopped down, the overall temperature of the globe will rise leading to a hotter climate which is not suitable for human’s survival. As an example, every year globe’s kelvin goes up by 1 degree owing to the fewer number of trees. Second of all, trees help in converting carbon dioxide to oxygen, their less number means less oxygen for human which is essential for mammals. As an instance, every year the oxygen available in the atmosphere go down by 0.5% owing to cutting down of forests. Thus, fewer trees result in a hot climate and squeezing oxygen supply. In summary, woodland which was the earlier source of oxygen is now transformed into concrete jungles and farmlands because of overpopulation. All of this will result in hot earth will low levels of oxygen which is not suitable for humans. Therefore, the measure should be taken to protect trees.