Many people work longer hours, leaving little time for leisure activities. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Nowadays, it is more common for people to spend more hours at work than they used to do a few decades ago. Although that this modern trend has some drawbacks such as affecting any attempt to create balance in life, I would argue that the benefits of this phenomenon are more significant than the downsides and they deserve to be taken into consideration. The following paragraphs will elaborate more on that. On the one hand, one of the main benefits of working for longer hours is that productivity is expected to be increased significantly. This would help any firm to reach its goals in a shorter period of time. For example, an engineer who aims to finish their work in a shorter period of time can make this possible by working for 10 hours per day instead of 8 hours, this would mostly reduce the designated time for the job to be done. Another advantage is that working for longer hours would provide workers with additional income which would improve the quality of their life. Furthermore, in developing countries, some people usually need to work for longer hours in order to be able to gain enough money to secure their essential needs. On the other hand, working for longer hours has some drawbacks as well. This often affects the balance between work and personal life. In other words, Many personal activities would be negatively affected due to the shortage of time. For instance, a person who is under constant stress at work would prefer to spend the rest of his day relaxing at home rather than involving in any other activities. As a result, people will suffer mentally and psychologically when they become socially isolated. In conclusion, although there are some negatives for people to work for longer hours, it seems that the positives are more significant in terms of productivity and improving individuals' income.