Many offenders commit more crime after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Many felonies after being imprisoned for the first time, they continue to commit crimes further,which could be due to a number of reasons. This essay will elucidate the reasons of increased crimes by felonies and also advocate the necessary measures required to be taken to tackle this growing issue. Firstly,In most of the prisons across globe offenders who have committed different crimes are put together in a cell,which poses to be a bad influence to the people who have committed minor offences like petty theft or corruption. Furthermore, the society continues to be indifferent towards people who have served time irrespective of how minor their offences are, and also getting a job would always be challenging as most of the organisations refuse to give them an opportunity,and because of all these reasons recidivism rate has been increasing in the recent past. Although one cannot justify crime and needs to be punished according to the law, however for minor crimes like petty theft or corruption they can choose an alternative way of punishing rather than shutting them in jail. For instance: In countries like south Korea for minor crimes offenders are made to do mandatory community services. Also society needs to stop discriminating prisoners and not allowing them to make a living. It is imperative that organizations must come forward and offer them jobs and learn to trust and give them a second chance in life as not everyone who commits crime are bad people To recapitulate, Although in the recent past there has been an increase in recidivism crimes this can also be tackled and reduced by using the various methods mentioned earlier.