Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is established in British and Australian laws that a jury is not allowed to know information about criminal past of an offender because this can protect that person, however, there are solicitors who advise providing a jury trial with all criminal records of the violator before they have made their verdict. In my opinion, the jury should not be given this knowledge due to the saving of unbiased perception of the person they judge and possible danger for the jury's members. To begin, if a jury is given information about past crimes of a violator, it will interfere to look on a committed crime. It is common knowledge that people often make conclusions about another individual with the information they heard or saw about him, however, when it comes to a criminal case, a history of previous offender's crimes should not be involved in the investigation but only facts and evidence because each violence is independent on person's criminal past but on circumstances. For example, in my city, the jury was given the all past facts about the criminal, therefore, they decided that in this time he is also committed a crime; however, after two years, the police found evidence that he is not guilty. There is another fact that material given about previous crimes may damage jury trial lives. Usually,people have chosen to be jury just random people with their routine lives that could be injured by suspect's companions who want nobody knows facts about crimes their prisoned companion committed. To illustrate, in Spain, before one court case started, the jury was given data about what an offender had done and with who; after the process finished there were recorded attempts to kill some of the jury members. In conclusion, despite suggestions of some lawyers to provide the jury with records about past of a violator I disagree with this consideration due to potential danger for the jury members, moreover, they ought to be unbiased about violator's personality in the sake of focusing on a crime.