Celebrity status no longer equates with talent/accomplishments. Discuss and give opinion

Celebrity status in the contemporary world is a term given to anyone who has achieved 15 minutes of fame or more recognition. It is noticeable that several of them have come and go, but only some could sustain. I agree with the point that it is somewhat true that the achievements of a famous person do not match up to their stature. But, at the same time,we cannot completely undermine the list of accolades received by those who deserved it thoroughly. Nowadays the majority of celebrities have a disproportional representation from music or movie industry, as the popularity status is indiscriminately forced upon ones who are famous for looks alone, such as top-models and tv presenters, or those who come out as winners from reality tv shows. Talent and accomplishments are rarely a part of the celebrity equation, and their success stems more from luck and society’s readiness to accept them with a dignitary prominence on even mediocre rather than any real talent. This is the reason why they disappear after a short stint in the line of business. For instance, children of prominent actors instantly gain stardom just because they have a background. On the contrary, in the past decades, the star value and stature was a characteristic of politicians or benefactors of society or cinema actors, and such individuals earned their position in society through sheer hard work and perseverance. They had to be truly outstanding and exhibit genius-level performance to attain the recognition as a celebrity. For example, actors who empower the movie industry nowadays, have been consistently working hard to achieve this position. In conclusion, instant fame from reality TV and talent shows are becoming increasingly popular. Individuals without substantial talent are enjoying celebrity position, thereby encouraging others to follow suit.