Some say that the best way to deal with public health issues is to invest in developing new medicines. Others argue that a better way is to promote a healthy lifestyle. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that the optimal way to treat the health conditions of people is by investing in new medications, while others argue that promoting healthy practices is a better approach. This essay will discuss how new drugs can help in treating untreatable diseases and why I think that a healthy lifestyle is a better approach because it can prevent health problems. To begin with, investing in modern drugs can help treat untreatable diseases. It has been proven that pharmaceutical innovations have led to significant improvements in health outcomes and prolong the lives of people with chronic diseases. For instance, the recent invention of COVID-19 vaccines has been effective in containing the global pandemic and was able to dramatically decrease the mortality rate worldwide. Thus, new medicines are essential for people to live longer and healthier. However, I believe that it is not a sustainable way to improve the overall health of the public. On the other hand, promoting a healthy lifestyle can improve the overall well-being of many. Rather than treating illnesses, healthy habits can help prevent them from occurring and recurring. It is more sustainable and affordable than buying medications which are usually taken for life. For example, avoiding smoking can reduce the risk of having lung cancer and problems related to passive smoking. Hence, healthy behaviour stops the sickness before it even starts which is more beneficial for everyone. In conclusion, while others may argue that modern drugs are essential in treating health problems, I believe that the best way to address public health issues is to promote a healthy lifestyle because it can prevent unhealthy conditions which can improve the overall well-being of individuals.