Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that many countries keep their religious festivals and holidays in traditional dates. However, nowadays people usually spend these festivals doing other activities rather than remembering the original meaning of such events. This essay will present arguments to support why I believe people changed their behaviour with regard to religious events. In the past people used to be more religious than they are nowadays. This is because religion was more present in society and the majority of countries used to have an official religion. Nevertheless, many nations have abandoned official religions and, at the same time, maintained holidays in those days which were to celebrate a religious event. As a result, people have lost their interest in celebrating those dates and they are using those festivals to enjoy themselves. For example, a great number of people do not even remember those dates. Furthermore, people who used to spend those festivals with their family are now travelling. For instance, Christmas is a Christian holiday and it means that Jesus Christ was born, therefore, it is a date to remember his birth. However, It is common to see a lot of people using these holidays to visit different places rather than stay with their families and celebrate Jesus' birth. To sum up, I believe people have changed their minds about religious holidays. Not only have they forgotten the idea behind it, but also they are using those occasions to other purposes. I suggest that governments cancel any traditional festivals since they do not have the same idea they used to have some years ago.