Young people are often influenced by their peers. do the advantages peer pressure overweight the disadvantages?

It goes without saying that peers have a great influence on youngsters. There is no doubt that it has a number of benefits, as one gets to learn from others of the group, and gets motivated to perform better. However, this could lead to certain problems among young people as well. In the following paragraphs, I would like to delve into both aspects with some relevant examples. To begin with, in a group a child always tries to learn from other children. Moreover, the problem-solving skills are developed in youngsters, as in pear they discuss their problems, and then try to find the solution on their own. What is more, the pressure of being better than others in the group motivates the young ones to do hard work and perform better, either it is a school or an office. For example,in schools,we have seen the kids working hard just to get better marks than other classmates. Thus, peer pressure is quite beneficial for young people as it helps in the overall development of one's personal skills. However, on the flip side, there are certain disadvantages of this peer influence. Sometimes, the pressure of doing better than others can increase to such an enormous level that it can lead to depression, and cause serious health problems. The reports of suicide by children is an example of the level of stress caused by this pressure to perform better than others. Furthermore, peer influence can sometimes make the youngsters get involved in wrong practices. For example, we all have seen young people getting into drugs just because a few of their group were drug addicts. Hence, it is a serious problem caused by peer influence. In conclusion, even though there are certain disadvantages; the numerous benefits of peer influence, not only in motivating young people to perform better but also to be a better person, makes it the pressure, from which the youngsters must be put through.