These days, food travels long distances before reaching consumers, and it is therefore believed that consuming locally grown food would bring about a number of economic and environmental benefits. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages ?

In today's world, the packaged food products travel from one country to the other. This helps the multinational companies in the food industry to make huge profits but has a negative impact on the economy of the region one is living. By consuming the local food, brings a positive change in many different ways to the local community and also benefits the environment. In this essay, I will examine the advantages and disadvantages of people choosing local goods. Firstly, there are many companies providing us ready to eat meals which are convenient to many of us. But these foods travel a long distance and is not considered fresh. Instead, if one starts consuming the freshly grown food from the local community it will help in improving one's health. Healthy and nutritious food is important for the well-being of society. Secondly, by consuming the crops grown in the community, it will benefit the people who are mainly dependent on farming. They receive a fair price for their produce and need not be dependent on selling in the open-markets for lesser price. Therefore, more people are encouraged to start farming which also helps to reduce pollution to some extent by giving fresh air. On the other hand, by choosing the food that is available locally people are left with very less choice. There are certain limitations on the cultivation of crops based on the geographical areas. Besides, there are several factories in most of the cities which are relying on food processing technology. If the import of foods from different parts of the world reduces, then this might impact on the livelihoods of such factory employees. Some years, there will be less than expected rainfall which impacts the local farming, as a result, the authorities should make last -minute arrangements to import food which can be troublesome in many ways. In conclusion, there are huge benefits of consuming the food that is grown in the community or the region, but it is always better to have a backup plan of food from other parts of the world. This maintains the balance of industries and farming, at the same time, making sure there will be no scarcity of food by depending only on the local goods.