Many countries want to host international sports event, while other countries think that hosting sports events has more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A highly controversial issue relates to whether nations should host global sports events or if it just brings about problems to the countries. In this essay, I will examine both points of view and give reasons why I believe that the arguments against hosting these massive events are stronger. It is commonly believed that sporting events in the globe considerable outweigh any disadvantages. The main reason for that is because this type of venture raises a country's economy, which is caused by subsidies brought from great corporations around the globe that fund the event. It is also possible to say that it increases the rate of tourism interested in the host country, that can pave the way for their economic development. A good illustration here could be Brazil, where the world cup hosted in 2014 helped the country's economy and has opened its doors for new enterprises. On the other hand, people believe that these sort of events only trigger to drawbacks. It is often argued that too much money is spent on it, which is mentioned by either developing or developed countries, instead of using this amount to solve community's problems such as health, education and safety. A second point is that all the infrastructure used to host these events, like stadiums, will not be used in the future, which shows that it was not worth it to host the event. A particularly example here is the 2018 world cup held in Africa, where almost all the stations are rundown nowadays. In conclusion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I believe that only developed countries should host this sort of event since the developing ones have more important issues to deal as aforementioned.