In the future, people may have to live on other planets. Some think that is therefore important to spend money researching other planets such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently, a lot of studies is being done to explore the existence of life on planets other than Earth and governments of different countries are funding a huge amount of finances to do this research. Although, some people believe that it is crucial to spend the money on doing study related to the existence of life on other heavenly bodies, I disagree with this statement because the idea of life on other planets is still a theoretical concept. Money spent on the analysis would stagnate the economy as well as hamper the development of the country. Firstly, even today the possibility of life on other planets like Mars is an imaginary concept. For more than a century, many nations are spending a huge budget on research and launching the expensive satellites in the space. But till today they could not find any hard evidence to support life on anywhere else other than Mother Earth. For instance, Although researchers have been able to find small traces of water on Mars, they could not justify the existence of rocks and non-existence of the atmosphere which are vital for the survival of the human life. As a lot of finances are spent on research, there are some industrialized nations and many developing countries where people could not afford the basic amenities of life such as food, shelter. Due to the overspending of the money on the study of space, even the infrastructure of the country is not developed. For example in India, there are many families who are destitute and their kids have to sleep empty stomach every night which leads to the major problem of malnutrition in children. Also according to California Housing Survey, the number of homeless people in San Francisco is increasing at the rate of 5% every year. To conclude, I believe that instead of spending the money on research to find the survival of life on other planets, the government should consider the development of the nation as a priority and the money obtained from taxes, revenue should be spent on building the fine infrastructure of the country as there are tons of people who are deprived of daily necessities of life.