Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent years, there has been a dramatic increase in the number of self-employed workers. They prefer to be self-employed, rather than work for others. Although there are both advantages and disadvantages in being self-employed, it is the latter proposition that draws attention for many people.In this essay,I will depict them, and discuss the reasons in the growth of self-employment. The most telling reasons for the growth of self-employment are unemployment and overpopulation. Population across the globe is skyrocketing and skilled education is not accessible for the majority of them. Lack of job skills makes getting a job difficult. Not only will unemployment affect an individual's growth, but also the economy of the whole nation. Besides, technology plays a key role in creating self-employment opportunities. Mobile applications such as Uber, Go people, E-group and the like providing an opportunity to make their own money. Needless to say, all these reasons stand in good stead among people, as far as their employment is concerned. Notwithstanding the aforementioned trend, self-employment is not without its concerns. The primary on stems from the fact that self-employment is not a secured job, it can be affected by various reasons. People who rely on self-employment are not always earn fixed salaries like an employee of any company, it varies depends upon the different factors. Apart from this, self-employed workers can't enjoy the fringe benefits that private or government employees get in their jobs. An employee work for a company can use the facilities like the gym, cafe, education for their children, insurance provided by that particular company. Apparently, the disadvantages of being self-employed seem to be far greater than its advantages. In conclusion, I would not wish to underestimate the advantages of self-employment. Nevertheless, I feel that the disadvantages of self-employment are far too great to ignore.