Many people work longer hours, leaving little time for leisure activities. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, as more people are leading a hectic expensive life, they usually tend to extend their working hours. Therefore, the time allocated for any leisure activities is gradually decreased. In this essay, I will elaborate more on why l believe that the benefits stemming from this routine are eclipsed by its drawbacks. Regarding the positive outcomes, the most fruitful result is a noticeable increase in the income of those workers. Since employees work for extra shifts, they will finish their tasks prior to the due date. As a result, they will be promoted and earn more incentives. For example, once constructing engineers elevate their working hours to be 10 hours instead of 8 per day, they will be paid higher in comparison to those who do not. Thus, working overtime definitely enhances employees' financial status in order to secure their necessities. Nevertheless, prolonging working hours may negatively affect workers’ physical and mental health. As for physical wellbeing, if they dedicate more time for work, they will not have enough time to be engaged in any physical-demanding activity. Due to such a decline in their physical effort, they would be prone to many diseases such as obesity and heart problems. In terms of mental status, the more time they spend at work aligned with short breaks for rest, the more stress those employees will experience. For instance, it has been proven that all workers need to reduce their work burdens or they might be depressed or isolated. To conclude, although devoting extra time to work is significant to support them financially, I assume that employees' physical and mental health are more serious; they should be taken into consideration while expanding working hours