In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s generation, people often prefer buying their day-to-day necessities from places that are more attractive and lavish looking. Due to this, it is observed individuals hop to supermarkets and showrooms which abandoned the local markets and cause them to shut down. In my opinion, this is a negative impact as the livelihood of the local families are not in a favourable position. Firstly, the elevating demand for malls caused the local sellers to level-up and provide additional discounts to sell their products. Because of this soaring demand, the seller had no other option but to sell at a lesser profit margin or no profit. For example, to satisfy customer requirement they had to lower down the price which caused them to pay from their own pockets. This is the reason, they choose to permanently close their well-settled bricks and mortal and let buyers fulfil their needs by shopping in the more attractive places. Secondly, lots of local shop owners face financial debts due to non-profit business. Therefore, to clear their dues demands putting their children education at stake and families faces a challenging life ahead. Furthermore, this later questions country’s economy. For instance, sellers who have a bulk of products left to sell but have no shop to showcase due to the debts are the one’s that require support. To conclude, people must consider buying from local shops too to support them and help balance the country’s economy. Moreover, the attraction should not be the focus but the quality of a product.