Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

The popularity of social media is increasing among different age groups. People share their personal data on these websites which sometimes leads to misuse of such information. Though social media help in developing cultural interaction and communication, the unauthenticated use of details remains a problem. I think the positive development will never overcome the drawbacks. This essay will explain the contents with examples in detail. On one hand, these social media improve the social life of people. Firstly, it acts as a source for better communication. For example, A Facebook user from India can communicate to a user in Antarctica, as a result,they develop better interaction in society, Secondly, it improves people interest in a different cultural aspect. Through online platforms, we come across users from different cultural background, where they share their activities. For instance, A Instagram user from China can share the cultural events happening in their country to people all over the world. Thus, attracting people to know more about such festivals. On other hand, they also have certain drawbacks such as providing forged information and unauthorized usage of data. Firstly, most of the social media counts are created using fake details which ultimately leads to major problems. For exemplify, data shows that more than one- third of the Facebook accounts are bogus which most of the times lead to criminal problems. Secondly, some of them claim that their account has been hacked and personal pictures are shared without their consent. For instance, Police records show that most of the case recorded in recent days is related to cybercrime. In conclusion, social media bring the people together in an interactive medium but their disadvantages will never overcome its advantages. In my view, it is important to protect one’s personal information than gaining such social lifestyle.