Studies shows that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they could get a good job once they are released. To extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

The latest research shows that most of the offenders have very little formal education. Some people believe that in order to combat the aforementioned issue wrongdoers must be educated while they are serving sentence in the prisons, so that they could have better employment opportunities once they are released. I firmly agree with this viewpoint because this will help them to become a better and productive member of society. Education will open many doors for the offenders. By becoming a degree or certificate holder, they will be in a better position to apply for the jobs. For instance, some fields, such as accounting and bookkeeping, require basic knowledge about the subject before they hire someone for the task. Therefore, by completing an online diploma in accountancy while serving a prison sentence could be a major advantage for the criminals to apply for the job. In addition to the certifications, skills learning/education ought to be encouraged in prisons. If a person learns electrical or plumbing skills during jail term, he can immediately apply for the work once he is out of the prison. This new employment opportunity will provide them with enough earnings to pay for their bills and support their lifestyle. Hence, by educating prisoners, the government is providing them with an opportunity to have access to the job market which in turns helps them to stay away from the criminal actions. To conclude, crime is linked to a lack of education in general. If the government facilitates prisons with academic and skills educational facilities, offenders could have better employment opportunities once there are released in the society which helps them to stay away from the crime. Therefore, I suggest central bodies should allocate budget for the training and development of the wrongdoers.