Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both the opinion and give your own view.

In recent years, an increase can be seen in the number of people who are learning or wants to learn a foreign language. Despite having many benefits, such as better job prospectives, faster cognitive development, effective communication skills, some people opine that profession and travel to an overseas country are the only reasons a person learns a language of a different country. While others argue that the advantages of learning a foreign language are not limited to work and visit only. This essay is going to explain both of these views. On the one side, it is quite natural that people learn foreign languages for travel and work purposes. This is because it enables them to communicate with those people who speak these languages. Therefore, a large number of languages such as English, French, Arabic, German, Spanish and Russian are learnt by people either to visit or migrate or to find jobs in those countries where people use these languages. From this regards, it seems quite logical that people learn different languages for visiting and working purposes. To cite an example, in India, most of the people learn English and French to move to Australia or Canada. Therefore, migration and career prospectives are the main cause which developed this trend. Conversely, research shows that cognitive development happens faster among the children who speak more than one language than those who know only one. Moreover, learning a second language is mandatory in the academic syllabus which helps students to better understand diverse cultural and traditional aspects. Due to people who know more than one language are able to read books in different languages which are a significant way to understand the lifestyle of different countries and assists to make new friends as well. Therefore, learnings of more than one language are not limited to job and tourism only. In conclusion, while some people learn a second language for their working or visiting purposes, but it is also evident that it has many other benefits too which broadened the horizons of our knowledge.