Some people think it's better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it's good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued if it is better to befriend people who think exactly the same instead of individuals who may have disagreements eventually. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument and then I will give my own opinion, that is extremely important to have people around whom you trust and with different ideas in order to evolve personally. On one hand, many people believe it is better to be surrounded by individuals with similar thoughts. One reason is the confidence one has to share their opinions without being afraid of being misjudged. In addition, individuals will avoid conflicts with their friends and can only enjoy good times instead of fights. To illustrate, it is common to hear about some friendship that was terminated because of divergent political ideologies. On the other hand, some individuals think that is good to have friends with different opinions. To begin with, every person is unique, with their own thoughts, therefore it is very unlikely that two individuals agree about everything, and because of that one will know that by disagreeing sometimes their friends are being honest rather than just agreeing in order to please them. Moreover, it is important to have access to different perspectives, so one can reflect on their own views and either change or strengthen their beliefs. In conclusion, both sides have their merits. In balance, I believe the best friends are the ones who are sincere and by sharing their different ideas allow one to think about some topic from another point of view and reflect about it.